SQLite Forum

empty DB created if DB file missing - is this inherent to SQLite
Login

empty DB created if DB file missing - is this inherent to SQLite

(1) By Art H (ahansen) on 2022-01-25 16:22:54 [link] [source]

Preface: I'm a novice; programming about a year & using SQLite about 4 mo.

I'm developing a C# app in Microsoft Visual Studio (VS) that's using SQLite. In perusing the SQLite documentation I ran across integrity_check. As a test I renamed the DB. Much to my surprise integrity_check returned "ok". Looking in the target folder I found a new 0kb file with the correct name. Opening the file in a DB manager showed a complete SQLite DB structure; apparently this was the file that was "integrity_check"'ed.

My first work around attempt was to check for the file's existence (in C# File.Exist) but it turns out that's unreliable when working with "Special Folders".

My second attempt was to load data from a nonexistent DB and capture the resulting error message. This time it did error out but with "no such table" and the new 0kb file with the correct name.

Is this expected SQLite behavior? If yes, how does one check for the existence of the DB before doing anything else?

(2) By Larry Brasfield (larrybr) on 2022-01-25 16:43:24 in reply to 1 [link] [source]

See Opening a New Database Connection, where someone as clearly aware of details as you can see what is going on. Pay particular attention to the issue of flags passed into the open.

(3) By Art H (ahansen) on 2022-01-26 13:26:27 in reply to 2 [link] [source]

Thank you for the response.

I've not actually been executing any Open() or Close() statements and I've been able to save to/load from the db fine so for example this C# method (function)

public static List<Sched> LoadSchedDistinctNames()

{ using (IDbConnection dbc = new SQLiteConnection(BURS_Connections.SQLiteDB()))

{ var input = dbc.Query<Sched>($"select distinct saveName from Sched", new DynamicParameters()); return input.ToList(); } }